Review: In Too Steep by Kate Kingsbury

In Too Steep 

Kate Kingsbury

Misty Bay Tearoom Series, Book 2 

t280 pages, Hardcover
Published August 9, 2022 by Crooked Lane Books
The peace and tranquility of the Misty Bay Tearoom are rocked by murder and a long-buried secret hidden in a most unlikely place in bestselling author Kate Kingsbury’s second charming book for fans of Cleo Coyle and Laura Childs.

It seemed like a simple case: the murder of Lewis Trenton, a beachcomber who lived alone in a cabin in the Oregon hills. But the newspaper article piques the interest of Vivian Wainwright, owner of the British-style Misty Bay Tearoom. The photo accompanying the article shows Lewis’s cluttered living room, and on the shelf is a replica of Big Ben. Vivian is sure she sold the clock a week before in her shop. Who could have given the replica to Lewis?

Unable to keep from doing a bit of sleuthing, Vivian hunts down the replica in a local thrift shop, noticing that the base is missing, rendering it worthless, but just as Vivian is about to throw it in the trash, a sparkle catches her eye. It’s a diamond, hidden away in a crevice in the clock. Vivian takes the diamond to Detective Tony Messina, who identifies it as part of a jewelry heist in Portland a month earlier. Portland police think Lewis was the fence who sold the jewels, and that he was killed after double-crossing the thieves—but Messina doesn’t believe the story.

What was the true motive behind Lewis’s murder? How did he come upon the diamond? And what secrets can the clock tell—before the killer strikes again?

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love a tearoom cozy!

 

Vivian Wainwright was shocked to find out hermit who love to come to beach had been murdered. when a newspaper article gathers Vivians interest. Showing a replica of a Big Ben, Vivian is sure she sold the clock a week before and her cozy little tea shop.  Unable to keep the article and picture from her mind Vivian starts to do a bit of sleuthing and tracks down the object at a thrift store. Obtaining the object noticing it broken she thinks it’s almost worthless until a second look has her calling the police right away. This mystery has more and more layers as it goes on. 

 

What an amazing introduction to this author and her series. Kate Kingsbury knows how to write a cozy mystery. She has engaging characters, a wonderful setting and describes her delectable treats so well that you could possibly be gaining weight while you read the book. I’m just joking on that but seriously they do sound good.  We even get a little bit of romance sprinkled in here. Vivian has two employees that also are her friends that are a hoot. Vivian definitely grabbed your attention and has no fear for danger. Well maybe she does but that’s still not gonna keep her from sleuthing. I love the town of Misty Bay Oregon. Usually if I don’t read the first book in the series I don’t go back because I feel like I’ve got enough to go on. I enjoyed In Too Steep so much that I will be going back and reading the first book and probably do a reread of this one just to feel like I’ve had my fill of tea and know everything that’s going on. Or that we know that’s going on at this point.

 

 

Posted on August 9, 2022, in ARC, Review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: