Review: You Can Run by Rebecca Zanetti

 

You Can Run

Rebecca Zanetti 

Laurel Snow Series, Book 1

Paperback, 400 pages
Expected publication: January 25th 2022 by Zebra

Fans of Lauran Griffin and Lisa Jackson won’t want to miss this brand new thriller series by New York Times bestselling author Rebecca Zanetti, as FBI Special Agent Laurel Snow, a rising star profiler, strives to stay one step ahead of the criminal mind—and discovers that her own demons may be the hardest to outrun…

Laurel Snow wouldn’t call hunting a serial killer a vacation, but with a pile of dead bodies unearthed near her Genesis Valley, WA, hometown, she’ll take what she can get. Yet something about this case stirs her in unexpected ways. Like the startling connection she feels to Dr. Abigail Caine, a fiercely intelligent witness with a disturbing knack for making Laurel feel like she has something on her. Then there’s Laurel’s attraction to Huck Rivers, the fish and wildlife officer guiding her to the crime scene—and into the wilderness…

A former soldier and a trained sniper, Huck’s thirst for blood is rivaled only by his fierce pursuit of Laurel. He’s been burned by love, wounded by the government, and betrayed before, and to say he has trust issues is the ultimate understatement. Plus, he might be closer to this killer than anybody knows…

Once in the heart of darkness with Huck, Laurel must negotiate her distracting desire for him, her complex rapport with Abigail—and her mission to find a serial killer among a growing list of suspects and a danger that’s far too close to home. So close in fact, Laurel fears she will never find her way back to the woman she once was…

4.5 Stars

Rebecca Zanetti has written many female lead characters that I have come to enjoy and love but I do feel that Laurel Snow is her best yet.

From her unique looks to the intricate way that her mind works Laura Snow is the stuff. A mind that thinks on a multitude of levels. A child prodigy going to college at the young age of 11 and becoming an amazing profiler for the FBI by her late 20s. A woman who knits booties and baby caps yet can think just like a serial killer. She doesn’t allow emotion to affect her the way that most people do which allows her to think and see things logically. She’s different and I loved everything about her.

Fish and Wildlife Officer Huck Rivers is a man of mystery, rules and routines. For someone who doesn’t particularly care for most people is the first step in. His job is saving people. From climbing snow covered mountains to diving deep waters he’s the first to put himself in danger to save someone else’s life. Huck definitely broods and at times is downright nasty, yet he is a hero.

You Can Run is an amazing start to this new series. Rebecca Zanetti pulls the reader in from the very first pages and doesn’t let up. The story is dark and intense yet so intriguing that you can’t stop reading. I would definitely call this more of a thriller than a suspense. Laurel and Huck’s romance is a slow burn that I can’t wait to see develop over the series.

Mrs. Zanetti writes with such rich detail it’s like you can feel the cold coming through the pages. Genesis Valley is a beautiful small town with all the wonderful things that we love from a small town. It holds many secrets that I feel will continue to unfold as we come to know more of Laurel Snow.

Posted on January 25, 2022, in ARC, Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: