Review: Murder at the Lakeside Library by Holly Danvers

Murder at the Lakeside Library

Holly Danvers

A Lakeside Library Mystery, Book 1

Kindle Edition
Expected publication: July 13th 2021 by Crooked Lane Book

In this series debut perfect for fans of Jenn McKinlay and Miranda James, Rain Wilmont must discover the killer, before the book closes on her life.

Rain Wilmont has just returned to her family’s waterfront log cabin in Lofty Pines, Wisconsin after the untimely death of her husband. The cabin is peaceful compared to Rain’s corporate job and comes with an informal library that Rain’s mother, Willow, used to run. But as Rain prepares for the re-opening of the library, all hopes for a peaceful life are shattered when she discovers the body of Thornton Hughes, a real estate buyer, on the premise.
The community of Lofty Pines starts pointing fingers at Willow, since she has been unusually absent from the library this summer. A fishy rumor surfaces when Rain learns that Willow had been spending a lot of time with Thorton. The town even thought they were having an affair.
While theories swirl about the Thorton’s death, Rain takes it upon herself to solve the case to exonerate her mother. As more clues surface, Rain will have to piece together the mystery. But if she isn’t careful, she may be the next to end up dead in the water in Murder at Lakeside Library the first in Holly Danvers’ new Lakeside Library mysteries.

4 Stars

A great beginning to what I believe is going to be a very fun series. 

Rain is at a very low point in her life. Recently widowed and dealing with issues that cause a tremendous amount of mental and emotional strain. Returning to her family’s lakeside cabin should be a place where she can come to a sense of peace with what has happened to her.  Her return finds her bombarded with childhood friends and other members of the community. The reason is double fold not only wanting to see here but pushing for the opening of their little community library. A little overwhelmed and a bit out of sorts, Rain reluctantly agrees to begin the process of opening the library. however things just keep seem to be happening to her because as talk of opening the library begins they find a body up on the property. Rain’s world is shaken a bit more when town gossip gets the best of her. 

Murder at the Lakeside Library is a great beginning to what I’m sure is going to an entertaining series. Rain Wilmont is pretty complex for a cozy character but that made me like her. She is all tied up in her head but wants to do what is right. Julia jumps right in with Rain like they have never missed a moment of time together. They become very much ride or die friends by the end of the story.  Jace and Rain have some very nice moments together. As for the mystery, it kept me on my toes. Rain’s  attention to detail is one of the things that help work this mystery along. I would have liked a little more attention on the actual library connected to the cabin however this has been a crate set up for the series. I hope that we will get inside that treasure a little more as we progress. 

Murder at the Lakeside Library is good mystery with some laugh out loud moments. I’m very much looking forward to what Ms. Danvers has in store for this series.

Posted on July 12, 2021, in ARC, Review. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: