Review: A Study in Murder by Callie Hutton

 

A Study in Murder

Callie Hutton

A Victorian Book Club Mystery, Book 1 

Kindle Edition, 320 pages

Published May 12th 2020 by Crooked Lane Books

 

A mystery author is charged with murder–and the plot thickens faster than anyone can turn the pages–in USA Today bestselling author Callie Hutton’s new series debut, perfect for fans of Rhys Bowen and Ellery Adams.

Bath, England, 1890. Mystery author Lady Amy Lovell receives an anonymous letter containing shocking news: her fiancé, Mr. Ronald St. Vincent, has been dabbling in something illegal, which causes her to promptly break their engagement.

Two evenings later, as Lady Lovell awaits a visit from Lord William Wethington, fellow member of the Bath Mystery Book Club, her former fiancé makes an unexpected and most unwelcome appearance at her house. She promptly sends him to the library to cool his heels but later discovers the room seemingly empty–until she stumbles upon a dead Mr. St. Vincent with a knife in his chest.

Lord Wethington arrives to find Lady Amy screaming and sends for the police, but the Bobbies immediately assume that she is the killer. Desperate to clear her name, Lady Amy and Lord Wethington launch their own investigation–and stir up a hornet’s nest of suspects, from the gardener who served time in prison for murder to a vengeful woman who was spurned by St. Vincent before he proposed to Lady Amy.

Can they close the book on the case before the real killer gets away with murder?

 

 

 

4 Stars

 

A Study in Murder is a well written and entertaining start to the Victorian Book Club Mystery series. 

 

Lady Amy Lovell is truly a character you can’t judge by her appearance. A lady by day and a secret mystery writer by night. Not really by night but you get my point. She is so much more than her time likes to accept from a woman.  She has a passion for life and a love for reading. Her way of thinking outside the box gets her in a spot of trouble here and there. I love that she thought for herself and stood her ground. For a 1890’s woman of Bath, she’s not your typical woman of the time, she’s much more fun. 

 

When Lady Amy ends her betrothment to Mr. Ronald St. Vincent after evidence is presented to her that he is taking part in some dealings that are rather unsavory Her biggest worry was what her father was going to say. Until two days later Mr. Saint Vincent shows up at her home unannounced and is found murdered In Lady Amy’s Home library. The investigators are naming Lady Amy as their number one suspect. Amy puts practical use to her research that she uses as a mystery writer, to uncover the mystery of who killed her ex fiancé.

 

Callie Hutton has a real winner with A Study in Murder. By nature I am a contemporary reader. However when I read the description for this book I was so intrigued I had to give it a shot, even with it being historical. The mystery itself Has all kinds of twists and turns and I’ll be honest I didn’t know the outcome until the end. The characters are a riot. There were some truly hysterical and laugh out loud moments that I didn’t expect to experience with a historical story. I loved the passion for reading itself within the pages of the story. As a reader that is something that I think we all enjoy seeing within characters in the books we read. I look forward to to seeing what Ms. Hutton has in store for Amy in the upcoming books in the Victorian Book Club Mystery series.

 

Posted on July 8, 2020, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: